SEUK launches UK Fellowship Programme to mark 15th birthday

Social Enterprise UK (SEUK) has launched a Fellowship Programme to mark its 15th anniversary as the UK membership body for social enterprises.

The programme recognises individuals who have contributed in a variety of ways to the social enterprise economy and movement, both in the UK and around the world.

Peter Holbrook, CEO of SEUK, said: “The last 15 years have seen the UK social enterprise sector grow, evolve and increase its impact and visibility considerably. Many thousands of people have contributed to this success.

“The contributions of our Fellows have helped create and shape a sector that exudes hope and humanity. It is business at its very best. Our fellows have helped in lifting millions out of poverty through microfinance, transformed their respective industries from social care to cocoa farming or grown local networks of social enterprises – helping revitalise their communities. The Fellowship also recognises figures who have used their academic prowess to make the economic case for social enterprise.

Every one of our Fellows has contributed hugely to building a fairer, more equal and sustainable world. With the economic, social and political challenges ahead their work has never been more valuable.”

The initial 15 Honorary SEUK Fellows are:

  1. Lord John Bird MBE & Nigel Kershaw OBE: Bird is the founder and editor-in-cheif of the Big Issue and Kershaw OBE is chair of The Big Issue Group

  2. Kelly Davies: Former professional footballer and founder of Vi-Ability

  3. Lindsey Hall & Matt Little: Lindsey Hall is co-founder and CEO of the Real Ideas Organisation group and Matt Little is a founding director and head of impact and research at the organisation

  4. Clive Hirst: founding director of Social Enterprise Solutions (UK) CIC, Blackpool’s first Community Interest Company

  5. Gerry Higgins: CEO at CEIS Group 

  6. Mariana Mazzucato: Professor in the Economics of Innovation and Public Value, University College London (UCL) and director of the Institute for Innovation and Public Purpose

  7. John McMullan: CEO of the Bryson Group in Northern Ireland

  8. Professor Jo Pritchard MBE: Pritchard was instrumental in establishing the first social enterprise to come out of the NHS in England

  9. Gina Rowlands: Managing director of Bevan Healthcare CIC.

  10. Fay Selvan & Edna Robinson: Selvan established The Big Life group and Robinson is its chair

  11. Liz Tapner: CEO of Selnet, the Social Enterprise Network for Lancashire

  12. Mark Sesnan: Managing director of the UK’s leading leisure charitable social enterprise GLL

  13. Sophi Tranchell: CEO of Divine Chocolate Ltd

  14. Guy Turnbull & Margaret Elliott OBE: Turnbull is the managing director of Care & Share Associates Limited

  15. Muhammad Yunus: Social entrepreneur, banker, economist, and civil society leader who was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for founding the Grameen Bank


Each year from now on SEUK will announce new honorary fellows who will join the original 15. Nominations for the next cohort of Fellows will open in early 2018.

For more information about the Fellowship Programme, click here.